Urban Decay Book of Shadows IV review (with swatches)

I just got my UD Book of Shadows IV and I am beyond thrilled! So as you guys know I was less than enthusiastic over the new and much hyped Naked 2 Pallete. (You can read that post here.)

The biggest issue for me was that many of the colors were so similar. I like to change things up a lot so I felt it was kind of a waste.

Well, the Book of Shadows IV definitely fits the bill! Its 16 colors (10 are new!) are a mixed variety so I feel that would allow me to play with more looks while still including the colors gunmetal and lost to produce that more neutral smokey eye. The shadows are super smooth, most are highly pigmented and easily buildable! It also comes with a travel size primer potion which I have in the full size and love, a full size 24/7 liquid eye liner which I have yet to try, and a travel size curling mascara which I also have yet to try.

Packaging

The packaging, while nice, is quite gimmicky including 3-D butterflies. You can’t really use that decently sized mirror that way lol. There is a cell phone holder on the left which is where you can set your phone once you use the card that is included containing QR codes in correspondence with a specific look and it directs you to an instant video on how to achieve it.  You then plug your phone into the key-chain speaker found in the drawer with the shadows or use the USB cable to connect to your computer.

Like I said, gimmicky.

In the pull out drawer are the shadows, liner, mascara, potion, cables and key-chain speaker.

Colors (in order of swatches clockwise from left):

blue bus, gunmetal, cobra, baked, bender, gravity, lost, hijack, midnight cowgirl, sin, midnight rodeo, crystal, bust, missionary, skimp and zephyr

Here’s my breakdown thus far:

CONS

1. Very bulky, certainly not something to toss into your bag. I would much preferred a more compact case with just the shadows.

2. Some of the shades like Blue Bus are not as pigmented as they look in the palette.

3. Drawer is hard to pull out.

PROS

1. Beautiful colors

2. Very smooth, blendable and buildable

3. A variety of colors in one palette.

Although it is 3 for 3, the PROS outweigh the CONS in significance so I am looking forward to using this palette a whole lot:)

What do you think?

