NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil review

I love love love this pencil! It reminds me of the NYX jumbo pencils.

The color I have is Cruella, and although it sounds evil, it’s does not look ferocious at all! It’s the perfect red (for me at least)! With the help of my makeup artist friend, Batya Wiesner of Makeup by Batya, we concluded that this is the best “red lip” color for me. It’s not too bright and not too deep.

The quality is perfect as expected from NARS. It’s very pigmented but using a light hand you can apply more of a stained look as opposed to all out red color lipstick look. As Batya explained to me, get a really nice “stained effect” make 2 “dashes” on top lip and 3 on the bottom, then purse lips together until color is evenly distributed. Add some clear gloss sparingly to middle of pout.  It’s a more subtle, everyday wearable red look without it being too strong!

To contact Batya and see some amazing work, here’s her info:

Batya Wiesner 516.660.8290

My YouTube video on the lip pencil:

4 thoughts on “NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil review

What do you think?

