Solei Tan De Chanel Bronzing Makeup Base review

Fist of all, that is a darn long name! I believe it used to be called Bronze Universal.

Anyway, I am always searching for a great new bronzer, I’ve heard beyond raving reviews about this one and decided to bite the bullet. With a price tag of $48 I thought this better be beyond awesome.This is how Chanel describes it on their website: The velvety finish of this light cream-gel bronzer leaves your skin with a beautiful sun-kissed look. Wear it on its own to enhance your complexion, or for a hint of outdoors radiance, over or under your favorite CHANEL Foundation.

To begin, here is the product with all it’s packaging.

Maintaining it’s Chanel style, it’s sleek looking and sophisticated in a frosted tub with a black lid embossed with the Chanel logo.You get a lot for your money at 1 oz.The tub was the size of my palm, if not bigger.

Getting to the product itself, here is a bird’s eye view.

Sorry about the glare, it’s more to give you an idea of how luxurious it seems (and is). The texture is difficult to describe. It is considered by some to be similar to a hardened mousse or cream. I agree. Just rubbing your finger gently across the surface will not really pick up much color. You have to be firmer than you’d think. With that said it blends really easy and smoothly.

Although I really, really wanted to love this product, it unfortunately was too “orangey” for my fair skin. I tried to apply it using a really light touch with duo fibre brush, a regular brush, and even with my fingers which I generally don’t use on my face other than moisturizer. I even tried it under my foundation (which is not full coverage), but it just didn’t look natural. I also did not notice any radiance as mentioned on the Chanel website. Bummer.

If your skin color is in the medium to dark range I would recommend trying it out as it’s nothing I’ve seen before. But for fairer girls like me, I’m not sure it’s worth the money or the hype.

10 thoughts on “Solei Tan De Chanel Bronzing Makeup Base review

    • Thanks so much! I actually came across that video a little while ago. I tried all sorts of ways and it just was too orange. Maybe it’s my undertone? Or maybe I need to try it again? I never say never and I may give it another shot. 🙂

What do you think?

