My latest craft!

As you probably know (and for those who don’t) I sell hair accessories on my site headturnerboutique.com.

For the little girl hats I’ve been using a porcelain doll:

I think she is so pretty. My problem is that her head is tiny. The cap above is for infants yet it looks huge. And her head does not fill out the hat. I think the disproportion can confuse customers looking into buying a particular product. Especially those who are not very visual in regards to imagining how it would look on a larger head.

After looking around for other size dolls, I could not find a pretty face with a larger head.

So, I came up with another idea. To me, size was more important to display things correctly and I decided to forget the face.

I went to Micheal’s last week to see what I could come up with. I purchased: a wooden candlestick, a wooden base, styrofoam balls and primer/spray paint. I then found some material to cover the white balls (I wanted to go cream) and tulle to cover it. I then spray painted the wooden pieces and had my hubby put them together. And voilà!

With a hat:

What do you think?

